Wednesday, September 15, 2021

1976 NFL Rookies of the Year

It's been a while since my last NFL Rookies of the Year post.  We left off with the 1975 ROYs.

1976 still had five different organizations each presenting two different NFL Rookie of the Year awards for a total of ten trophies.  In an unusual happenstance, the top NFC rookie was an offensive player and the top AFC rookie was a defender. All five organizations were in unanimous agreement for the first time.  The NFC/Offensive Rookie of the Year was Sammy White. The AFC/Defensive Rookie of the Year was Mike Haynes. Haynes and White had their actual rookie cards in the 1977 Topps set.  Both of them had All Pro banners across the top as well.


White spent his whole career in Minnesota making the Pro Bowl his first two seasons.  His final season was in 1985. In 1998 he returned to his Alma Mater, Grambling State as a coach until 2009.

Mike Haynes was a nine time All Pro.  He played 14 seasons, seven with the Patriots and seven with the Raiders.  He retired in 1989 and was elected to the Hall of Fame in 1997. In 2000 he was inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame.

1 comment:

  1. Great cards! Both players were so good. Haynes had the better career but I remember Sammy White on those Vikings teams.