Thursday, August 7, 2014

1967 Topps NL Stolen Base Leaders: Lou Brock, Sonny Jackson, Maury Wills

In 1966 there was a changing of the guard. After finishing 2nd in stolen bases in 1964 and 1965, Lou Brock passed Maury Wills as the stolen base leader. Wills was the N.L. stolen base leader from 1960-1965 but fell to 3rd in 1966. Lou Brock would go on to be the new N.L. leader in 8 of the next nine years. 

Nearly lost in the middle of these two superstars is Sonny Jackson. Jackson had a career high 49 stolen bases in 1966. He made brief Major League appearances in 1963, 64 and 65,  but 1966 was still officially his rookie year and he finished 2nd in Rookie of the Year voting to the Reds' Tommy Helms.

No comments:

Post a Comment